Super Awesome Friend: Gulcin

Gulcin.

image

My very first friend in the States!

We went to see a boring baseball game together back in september 2005 and just clicked right away.

When I think of her, I only have fun memories rushing through mind. (Un)fortunately, most of them, if not all, cannot be shared with you all. This is how fun and unique our time together was.

Gulcin, besides being an accomplished engineer who graduated in physics and chemistry is…. an entertainer.

A night out with this Turkish girl always included:

  • meeting tones of new people
  • some good laughter
  • belly and samba dancing
  • a few Turkish stories:-)

A year after we met, she left me for …. Ohio!

I have never seen her again but we kept in touch through Facebook and emails. And after all these years, she stepped up and made a donation for BCNA and sponsored my 10K.

A few months ago, she told me that she was going back to SF with her husband. You can never really leave that place. It grows on you and calls you back whenever possible..

Something tells me that I will see her again:-)

Thank you Miss for your donation!

I wish you and your hubby the very best up there! xo

image

I have much more flattering pics of us two, but this one …brings back hilarious memories -Thanksgiving 2005

—-

I already did (smashed) my 10K and my donation page is now closed.

However, please visit http://www.bcna.org.au/ and feel free to make a donation. Your money will go towards providing newly diagnosed women with breast cancer with quality information and support.

